“When are the Remaining Illinois Resident Free Days at the Shedd Aquarium in 2019?” by S.M. O’Connor

Illinois Resident Free Days at the John G. Shedd Aquarium from Monday, June 17, 2019 and Tuesday, June 18, 2019; Monday, June 24, 2019 and Tuesday, June 25, 2019; Monday, August 26, 2019 and Tuesday, August 27, 2019; Tuesday, September 3, 2019 and Wednesday, September 4, 2019; Monday, September 9, 2019 through Wednesday, September 11, 2019; Monday, September 16, 2019 through Wednesday, September 18, 2019; Monday, September 23, 2019 through Wednesday, September 25, 2019; Monday, September 30, 2019; Tuesday, October 1, 2019 and Wednesday, October 2, 2019; and Wednesday, December 4, 2019.  The Ford Motor Company Fund sponsors Illinois Resident Free Days.

Remaining Illinois Resident Free Days at the John G. Shedd Aquarium

June

17th and 18th

24th and 25th

August

26th through 27th

September

3rd and 4th

9th through 11th

16th through 18th

23rd through 25th

30th

October

1st and 2nd

December

4th

 

On these days, all adult Illinois residents (eighteen-years-of-age-and-up) must present valid identification with an Illinois address to receive free admission.  Children do not need to furnish proof of residency if they are accompanied by adults with valid identification.  Current university or college identification cards are valid proof of residency for students living in Chicago or anywhere else in Illinois.  If a resident’s photo identification card does not list an address, one must furnish secondary documentation such as a utility bill, a bank statement, a lease, a recent paystub, or any other official documentation that lists one’s full name and an address in Illinois.

One can reserve these free tickets online by clicking here, but be forewarned there is a $3 transaction fee.  Free tickets cover the whole aquarium, including all exhibits, aquatic presentations (subject to availability), and Stingray Touch! (from late May to Labor Day weekend).  Pick up tickets at a North Lobby kiosk in front of the Soundings Café.  One can add the 4-D Experience to the visit by paying $4.95 per person ($2.95 for Members).

The Shedd Aquarium is a Smithsonian Affiliate.  It is located on the Museum Campus in the Chicago Park District’s Burnham Park.  Until June of 2019, the Shedd Aquarium will be open from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. during the workweek (Mondays through Fridays) and from 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. on weekends (Saturdays and Sundays).  There are Extended Summer Hours (9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. every day) from the 15th of June through the 18th of August, except on the 27th of July, when it will close at 3:00 p.m.  Click here for updates on hours.  The last ticket sale is forty-five minutes before closing.

The address is 1200 South Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, Illinois 60605.  The Website is https://www.sheddaquarium.org.  The phone number is (312) 939-2438.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close