“Free Entry to the Museum of Science & Industry and The Science Behind Pixar” by S.M. O’Connor

The remaining four Sundays are free days this September at the Museum of Science and Industry (M.S.I.) and when one reserves free Museum Entry (general admission) tickets for Sunday, one can also get a free ticket to The Science Behind Pixar, thanks to the generosity of The Walt Disney Company, the parent company of Pixar Animation Studios.  [To be clear, this will be Sunday, September 9, 2018; Sunday, September 16, 2018; Sunday, September 23, 2018; and Sunday, September 20, 2018.]  The Science Behind Pixar, which I have previously profiled, is a traveling exhibit developed by the Museum of Science, Boston and Pixar Animation Studios.  BMO Harris is the local sponsor.  Normally, Museum Entry tickets are $21.95 for adults ($19.95 online), $12.95 for children ages three-to-eleven ($10.95) and free for M.S.I. Members, and tickets for The Science Behind Pixar are $14 for adults, $11 for children ages three-to-eleven, and $7 for M.S.I. Members.  Reserve tickets online as soon as you can because tickets for The Science Behind Pixar are only available while supplies last.  As of this writing – 3:42 p.m. on Wednesday, September 5, 2018 – online ticketing is temporarily unavailable and the M.S.I. will restore service as soon as possible.  Update: The online ticketing system was restored by 4:51 p.m.  There is a limit of ten tickets per household.

This last Sunday, The Incredibles 2 (2018) became the first animated film in cinematic history to have brought in $600,000,000 at the box office domestically.  It made $182,600,000 at the box office its opening weekend in June.

Often stylized as the “Museum of Science and Industry, Chicago” or the “Museum of Science + Industry” the institution is located at the northern end of Jackson Park, on the south side of 57th Street, between Lake Shore Drive to the east and Cornell Drive to the west, in the East Hyde Park neighborhood of the Hyde Park Community Area (Community Area #41) on the South Side of Chicago.  The M.S.I. is open every day of the year with two exceptions: Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.  On most days, it is open from 9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., but during peak periods it is open from 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

EXTENDED HOURS AND EXCEPTIONS

11:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Sunday, September 23, 2018

9:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Saturday, October 6, 21018

9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Saturday, November 17, 2018

Sunday, November 18, 2018

Closed

Thanksgiving Day

(Thursday, November 22, 2018)

9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Friday, November 23, 2018

Saturday, November 24, 2018

Sunday, November 25, 2018

9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Saturday, December 1, 2018

Sunday, December 2, 2018

9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Saturday, December 8, 2018

Sunday, December 9, 2018

9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Saturday, December 15, 2018

Sunday, December 16, 2018

9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Saturday, December 22, 2018

Sunday, December 23, 2018

Closed

Christmas Day

(Tuesday, December 25, 2018)

9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Wednesday, December 26, 2018

Thursday, December 27, 2018

Friday, December 28, 2018

Saturday, December 29, 2018

Sunday, December 30, 2018

Monday, December 31, 2018

 

Check this Webpage and M.S.I.’s social media for changes: https://www.msichicago.org/visit/museum-hours/.  The address is 5700 South Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, Illinois 60637.  The Website is https://www.msichicago.org/ and the phone number is (773) 684-1414.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close